News & Events

The Editorial Board of the UCD Law Review was delighted to welcome the Director of Public Prosecutions, Ms. Claire Loftus, as the guest of honour at the recent launch of Volume 13 of the Review. Ms Loftus is herself a graduate of UCD (BA 1987; Higher Diploma in European Law, 1996).

In her address, Ms. Loftus noted the significant contribution made by the UCD Law Review to legal scholarship and discourse and acknowledged the calibre of articles published by the Review. She commended the authors on their excellent contributions to Volume 13 and praised the Editorial Board for their work.

Ms. Loftus was joined by Mr. Justice Moriarty, Professor Colin Scott, the Dean of the Sutherland School of Law, faculty members, authors, invited guests, students and previousReview editors.

The Prize for Most Outstanding Article was presented by Berni Hosty, on behalf of  A&L Goodbody, to Martin O'Dwyer for his article 'A matter of Evidence: Sacerdotal Privilege and the Seal of Confession in Ireland'.

Addressing the audience on behalf of the Editorial Board, Miriam Keane, Editor-in-Chief, thanked Arthur Cox, the principal sponsors of the UCD Law Review since its inception in 2001, for their unstinting commitment, which Jane Babb and her colleagues had maintained. Ms. Keane thanked Mr. Justice McKechnie for penning a thought-provoking foreword to Volume 13 and she acknowledged the generous support received from  A& L Goodbody, the Staff Editors to the Review - Dr Niamh Howlin and Dr Kevin Costello. She also singled out the support given over many years by Dr Gavin Barrett, Dr Oonagh Breen and Dr Máire Ní Shúilleabháin - the previous staff editors - and the encouragement and guidance received from the Dean of the Sutherland School of Law, Professor Colin Scott.

We are currently accepting abstracts for the UCD Law Review Round Table which will take place on October 23rd 2013. The deadline for submissions is Wednesday, 2nd October 2013. For further details, see the Round Table tab.

Back row, L to R: Ciara McManus, Ciarán Cronin, Cian Logan, Anna Ní Uiginn, Matthew Gregg, Ruth Crawley (Deputy Editor).

Front row, L to R: Aoibheann Duffy, Aoife McDonough, Miriam Keane (Editor-in-Chief), Georgina Forde, Kate Moloney.

Missing from photo: Rachel Heavey and Yvanne Kennedy.

We are currently accepting submissions for the 13th Volume of the UCD Law Review. The deadline for submissions is Friday, 29th March 2013. For further details, see the Submissions tab.

Left to right: Jodie-Jane Tingle (Author), Donal Scott (Author), Cliana Carroll (Editor-in-Chief), Alan Roberts (A&L Goodbody), Miriam Keane (Deputy Editor), Áine Quirke (Board Member), The Hon. Justice Peter Kelly, The Hon. Justice Gerard Hogan.


The Hon. Justice Peter Kelly speaking at the launch of Volume 12 of the UCD Law Review.

The in-coming and outgoing Editors-in-Chief, Miriam Keane and Cliana Carroll.


Left to right: Miriam Keane (Deputy Editor), The Hon. Justice Peter Kelly, Dr. Gavin Barrett (Academic Advisor), Cliana Carroll (Editor-in-Chief), The Hon. Justice Gerard Hogan, Alan Roberts (A&L Goodbody), Dr.Oonagh Breen (Academic Advisor).